Easy Baked Chicken Taquitos

So I’ve been making these Taquitos for about 10 years now and have kind of found the quickest, tastiest groove to make them. Not exactly sure why they are so delicious to me but they are. Even cold out of the fridge later. They’re like a much easier tamale with a crunch!
20141026-232950.jpg

Following is enough for about 30-35 Taquitos.

Ingredients:

2 Chicken breasts

3/4 cup shredded cheddar

Spicy seasoned salt

Cumin

Corriander

Paprika

30-35 corn tortillas

Method:

In a saucepan, cover chicken with an inch or so of water. Add about 1/2 teaspoon of corrriander, cumin, paprika and season salt. Bring to a boil and reduce to medium high heat. Boil about 15-20 mins until chicken is cooked through and tender.

Remove chicken from heat and drain. You can dump it but I usually save it for making chicken based soups or homemade refrained beans. Let chicken cool a few minutes.

THIS IS AN AWESOME TRICK I LEARNED!

If you have a stand mixer with a dough hook, pull that bad boy out…trust me. Put your chicken in there and slowly move your speed to a high speed. Allow it to shred the chicken then stop and pull the bigger chunks to the center and restart until thoroughly shredded! I LOVE this trick. Shredding was one of the most annoying things in the world to me before. After shredded, add cheddar and another 1/2 teaspoon of each of the seasonings to your shredded chicken and you are ready to roll..literally!

Heat corn tortillas, one at a time over a hot burner, just long enough to get them a little browned and pliable. I stack them on a plate to keep them warm. I find I get about 15 taquitos per chicken breast. I roll mine kind of small because I like the extra crunch. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Once you have your tortillas ready, line the bottom of your pan with some olive oil. I use a turkey roaster pan to fit all the taquitos, and usually use about 1/4 cup oil. Seems like a lot but it makes them nice and crispy in the oven, and beats deep frying.

Place about a tablespoon of the chicken mixture at the edge of your tortilla and roll up. Place seam side down in the pan. Continue until all your shells and mixture are gone.

Drizzle olive oil over the top of the taquitos. I use my hand to distribute it evenly across them kind of patting it down not to disturb your rolls too much.

Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes, until they are firm to the touch and slightly more browned. I usually turn the broiler on at the end for a minute or two to give them that extra crunch.

Serve with hot sauce, salsa, sour cream…whatever dips you like! This is a great snack or often I will pair it with rice and beans for a meal.

I was told by my teenager that I had to get with the times and make a YouTube video for my blog. So here’s kind of the abridged version of the method. It starts with me shredding the chicken in my mixer..kinda loud…sorry.

Leave a Reply

